Life in Christ

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Card May 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — aimeemccullough @ 2:43 am

I received a card today from someone very unexpected. I was taken by surprise and after reading it felt it was important enough to hang in my office for a while. A lot has happened during the day but in reflecting on it all, I came back to the card.

When someone cares for you it changes everything. It changes how you see them, it changes how you see others. It opens your eyes to see God at work. What if one of our most important missions in the church today was simply to care for each other? Seeking God first, then caring, praying and waiting on God. I have to wonder what change would be like if this was how we functioned. I am not saying that everyone would always agree or like every change. But I believe it would be different than the hurt, pain, anger, frustration, etc that we are living with today.

Instead, we only hope they will “see our side” and I am sure they hope “we will see theirs”. What about God’s side? Isn’t His vision for His church important? Does He not call us to Love one another and always be striving for Unity?

It’s nice to sit back and talk a good talk. But if I’m honest, I must admit I have spent 7 years failing at this. I have always thought that people who didn’t see things OUR way just didn’t like change. I have even thought they didn’t want to grow in their faith and at times have questioned church attendance versus their personal walk with Christ. How humbling it is to find out that maybe it is I who needs to grow. Maybe I need to consider changing. To love and care first, despite the cost and let God handle moving His church in His direction. Maybe the church can move forward and love and care for one another at the same time. After all that’s the plan Jesus gave us, is it not?

Maybe, just maybe a card, a sign of showing you care, can make a difference.

 

Leave a comment