Life in Christ

Just another WordPress.com weblog

God is Working!!! July 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aimeemccullough @ 9:50 pm

It’s been a very long time since I’ve updated this blog. Life has been, what it always is – crazy, busy, fun, frustrating, and everything in between. But, one thing I know that I know that I know – God is doing awesome and amazing things! There’s so much to write about that I don’t know where to start….

I have the opportunity to preach again in August on the 22nd and 29th. Of course I agreed to preach before finding out that I would speaking on Romans 12:9-21. I have read this passage daily for the last month and God has really been working on my heart through these words. I am still not exactly sure what God wants to say to his people about this passage but hopefully he will reveal that very soon. Next week I leave for Florida to close graduate as a Certified Church Business Administrator. In some ways I feel like next week will be the closing of a Chapter in life where “Business” reigned above God. I am extremely excited to be starting a year of spiritual direction this fall and next fall enrolling in Evangelical Seminary in Myerstown, PA to starts my Masters of Divinity. There are still MANY things that scare me about becoming a pastor but I can no longer deny that God has placed that calling on my life.

I am currently reading several books which include Sacred Rhythms by Ruth Haley Barton, Seeking God Together by Alice Fryling and Radical by David Platt. The Radical book is pushing on my beliefs and relationship with God and really making me look at what we as Americans have turned God into. It is insanely convicting, I am still in Chapter 3 as I read, put it down and fall on my face before God. I admit that I have never been so challenged by a book before. When we really step back and look at God for who he is we can only stand in awe.

My “job” at the church is all that I ever dreamed it would be. It was what I thought ministry should be like before I ever started working in a church. It is days and nights of seeking God, meeting with Him, praying for his people, worshiping Him, loving Him and his people, seeing people how he sees them and best of all it is a once in a lifetime opportunity to partner with 7 other people who are doing the exact same thing. I feel like for the first time in my career we are living in the book of Acts. I cannot help but be excited for God’s church, God’s purpose and God’s plan.

There is a time for everything, and it is finally our time to see revival in our own lives and in the life of the body of Christ. As I sit here writing 70 youth are in the room next to me, breaking bread together and talking about seeing Jesus in their mission work today. We cannot deny that God is at WORK!

 

One Response to “God is Working!!!”

  1. melanie marcovecchio Says:

    I wanted you to know just how inspired I am by reading this. I have been trying so hard to hear god and I have been getting so frustrated but reading this is giving me hope that I can just keep trying to do my best and listen to his word and feel him in my heart:) congrats on all you have accomplished! how wonderful it is that you will be graduating and then going for your masters in the fall,you are going to be an amazing pastor!


Leave a comment